gslabj founders throwback.jpg
sharon stevens throwback.jpg
gslabj throwback holiday party.jpg
brenda fisher.jpg

In 1976, a group of Black journalists founded The Greater St. Louis Association of Black Journalists.  GSLABJ was one of the first chapters to affiliate with the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ.)


Local members were tired of seeing Blacks rejected (or not even considered)  for media jobs because they weren’t “qualified.”


Shortly after the groups’ formation, members created a journalism workshop for high school students to help prepare them for journalism careers.


And so, the Minority Journalism Workshop (MJW) was born!  Hosted at a local college, the MJW was set up like a real newsroom and over the years, members have mentored and trained thousands of students.


With help from members and the Greater St. Louis community, an estimated $100,000 has been raised and given to students as scholarships.

In addition to the workshop, it was our pleasure to host the 13th Annual NABJ convention in St. Louis.  Our guest speakers included the late, great “60 Minutes” correspondent Ed Bradley.  GSLABJ’s Sharon Stevens was the convention co-chairperson.

Over the years, GSLABJ has hosted trivia nights to help raise money for scholarships.  We have also  hosted free media training seminars for the public, collected and/or donated food, books and diapers to local organizations.

The Greater St. Louis Association of Black Journalists (GSLABJ) was founded in 1976 by:

  • Gerald M. Boyd (first president), reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch*

  • George Curry, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch*

  • Gaynelle Evans, producer, KTVI-TV

  • Donald Hammonds, reporter, St. Louis Globe-Democrat

  • Cleora Hughes, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • Margie Hollins, public relations manager, City of Wellston, MO

  • LeRoy Grant, public relations manager, Southwestern Bell Telephone Co.

  • Robert Joiner, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • Betty Lee, editor, Proud magazine*

  • Linda Lockhart, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • Chris Moore, producer/ host, KETC-TV

  • Christine Mullen, producer/ writer, J-V-L News

  • Joseph Palmer, publisher, J-V-L News and Proud magazine*

  • Sheila R. Rule, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • Robin Smith, reporter/anchor, KMOX-TV

  • Stan Stovall, reporter, KSD-TV

  • Ellen Sweets, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch (also of the St. Louis American)

  • Fred Sweets, photographer, St. Louis Post-Dispatch (also of the St. Louis American)